Random Act of Kindness in Southport, NC

An extraordinary way to be friendly to a stranger is to perform a “random act of kindness” for him/her. And, as my sister Aimee Greer writes, these kind acts have a way of getting passed along. Here’s Aimee’s story, in her own words:

I experienced a wonderful act of kindness about eight months ago that I think about frequently.

I was with both of my girls at the library when a downpour of rain started. An afternoon thunderstorm is always lovely unless your transportation back to your house are your legs! (especially legs that can’t run) I decided to wait out the storm with a few more books. The weather seemed to be clearing so I put my three-year-old in the stroller and my six-year-old by my side and started my brisk walk back to my house. But the storm decided to start up again and my older daughter decided to take cover in the stroller with my younger one. Feeling as though I was pushing a thousand pounds and with my clothes becoming heavy with rain, I was getting quite discouraged. Then a complete stranger stopped her car beside me and had her son hand me her umbrella. I thanked her immediately and then soon realized: how am I supposed to get this umbrella back to her?!

Now let me say what this random act of kindness did for me. The following day I saw an old man having a difficult time loading his groceries. As usual I was in a hurry and had no extra time. But what did I remember? Well, we all know what I did. Do you want to know the best part? My daughter was with me. It was awesome!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Random Acts of Kindness

2 Comments on “Random Act of Kindness in Southport, NC”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    HI!! Cecelia and I love this.

    My ‘umbrella’ came in the form of a Harris Teeter worker who helped me store my just-purchased groceries in a refrigerator when, in the pouring rain, I realized I had locked my keys in my car. Cecelia and Marcus were with me, just babes. I was a mess. This lady and I still chat when I manage to get in her check-out line.

    Also, I thought of you Wendy because I just read a story about Williams syndrome – kinda the opposite of Autism, apparently. I’d never heard of it, but was fascinated.

    • wgulley Says:

      Thanks for your umbrella story, Elizabeth. While downpours are unpleasant, they do seem to offer opportunities for helping others!
      Yes, I’ve heard about Williams syndrome– fascinating, indeed. People with this syndrome have no problem “saying hi” to strangers. In fact, I heard a news story recently about research into genes we might have for trusting and mistrusting people. The researcher thinks people with WS lack the genes for being wary and distrustful, which can help for survival. This poor mom was talking about how her daughter goes up and kisses EVERYONE, no matter where they are.


Leave a Reply

