Hero of the Month

April 2010: Bill P.

Bill is currently the coach of the MIT masters swim team in Cambridge, Massachusetts. I met him in the early 1990’s, at a pool in Boston where we were both swimming masters’ workouts. I was new in town, and he was immediately welcoming to me. We hadn’t known each other long when he invited me to join him on a relay for the Boston Light Swim. On that long day in the Boston Harbor, in a small boat crowded with swimmers, I learned how easygoing and friendly he was– and how he excelled as an open-water swimmer. What a beautiful long stroke!

Bill has a way of making you feel valued. He makes jokes and gives compliments easily and is genuinely interested in hearing what you have to say. He will say “hi” and strike up a conversation with anyone he comes across. Raised in Cambridge, Bill is my proof that people from the Boston area CAN be friendly. Bill P. is my first “Just Say Hi” hero of the month.

Bill has a weekly jazz radio program heard live on Mondays at 4pm on http://www.wmbr.org. You can listen and if you’re feeling it — give him a call and “Just Say Hi”.

Bill and I are putting out a challenge… can you name your “Just Say Hi” hero of the month? Maybe it’s someone at the grocery store, bus stop, on the treadmill, or at your kid’s school. Please send me your nomination and short description of why they are deserving of being a “Just Say Hi” hero.

Explore posts in the same categories: Just Say Hi Heroes

2 Comments on “Hero of the Month”

  1. Katie Says:

    No fair! You highlighted the person who puts a smile on my face EVERY DAY – coach Bill! He is everything you describe and makes a big difference to the tone of my day. I suppose that I will then go with my favorite lifeguard Kenny. Kenny is the first to welcome swimmers to the pool and always remembers what is going on in your life. Sometimes all it takes is for someone to notice you – so go out of your way to notice someone else today.

    • wgulley Says:

      No wonder why you swim at MIT– such friendly people to be around! It is so nice when people who work with the public, like lifeguards and cashiers, actually enjoy chatting with you and make an effort to remember you. Kenny goes beyond just saying “hi”; kudos to Kenny!


Leave a Reply

